Freedom to skip ads – could it be a human right?

I love ads, let’s just get this straight right away. I used to think the Apple Think Different ads were my all time classic, but I have to say that the recent Guardian Three Pigs has blown that off the number one slot.

But not all ads are that engaging. And sometimes you are just in a hurry, right …

And skipping ads was the very thing that made me fall in love with the idea of TiVo even before I could have one on this side of the pond. Free will – yay!

But what’s happened to our free will? Seems to me that it’s under threat. I have a Virgin Media TiVo enabled box which I quite like. But the concepet of having the freedom to *skip* ads is not part of my experience. Actually, the irritation of watching them in fast forward is imposed on me. It’s always been a little bit irritating, but I see now that it’s getting a bit more coverage States side. See this article from The Register about the spat between Dish and film/TV industry:

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/05/19/dish_networks_at_odds_with_broadcasters_over_ad_skipping/

How can we have got to a position where intellectual property and contracts are being used like this? I get the business of revenue generating as much as the next lawyer, but seriously guys, they are my eyeballs and if I want to hop, skip and jump over the ads, just let me.  Shouldn’t my eyeballs have a human being type right to say “no thank you” just like I can opt out of receiving email spam and cookies?

About vanessabarnett

Vanessa is a partner at Charles Russell who helps clients get deals done and get projects off the ground in the Internet, mobile, media and marketing & advertising sectors. Outside of work Vanessa likes shiny new toys, usually made by apple, photography and the great outdoors – best mixed with a bit of adrenalin! “Interviewees recognise Vanessa Barnett for her extensive market knowledge, commenting that "there is nothing that she hasn't seen and dealt with before." Clients also appreciate her "ability to condense complex matters into plain English." (Chambers Guide to the Legal Profession 2012) “has impressed clients with her “clear-cut communication style and tenacious work ethic.” .” (Chambers Guide to the Legal Profession 2009) View all posts by vanessabarnett

One response to “Freedom to skip ads – could it be a human right?

  • Validatum

    Absolutely agree. If the ‘right’ to skip doesn’t suit the networks and their advertisers, tough! They will just have to find a different business model like the music industry, the publishing industry, the legal profession and countless others. God forbid I should lose the ability to watch most programs the night after broadcast. An hours conventional viewing in 40 minutes!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

