Copyright reform – a small thought now I have made a movie

Well, not quite a movie. More like adding s bit of sound to some skiing footage that I took last winter of Him Indoors.

It was my first movie and I used iMovie and it all worked brilliantly.

Great footage, brilliant soundtrack from iTunes.

As Him Indoors was travelling I loaded onto YouTube as a private file and sent a link to him.

And then copyright spoiled my fun.

My tune was owned by WMG and my creative output was subjected to an audio swap of the most rubbish kind.

Now look, I love copyright as much as the next person, but I paid for that tune and I was making a movie for fun, to learn, etc.

Please let’s get some kind of fair use on the statute book that makes things like this, within a household, legal.

PS – file sharing of course, is naughty and you shouldn’t do it kids!

Leave a Reply

